Cake by Post – Baker Days Review And Giveaway

Baker Days Review

As a blogger I often get asked to review items for various companies. I only say yes if they are a good fit with this blog, or they are something useful for us or I think my readers would be interested in. Last week I had a tweet asking me if I wanted to review a cake by post service. I can honestly say it was the quickest yes I have ever said! Cake by post – now that sounds amazing!

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect but I was amazed to see the huge range of cakes available on Baker Days. You can order pretty much any cake, from birthdays to new baby to graduation. I am sure they have a cake for every occasion. Many of these can be personalised, either with a photo or with the name of your choice – which is great as a personalised cake makes it that much more special.

I opted for a Valentines cakes for the hubby, who I affectionally call Davies in case you were wondering! It arrived quickly and was really well packaged. I don’t know what I was expecting but I was worried that I would get a crumbled cake through the letterbox but that couldn’t have been further from the truth. The cake was packaged in cellophane and in a sturdy breathable tin. This was then packaged in a sturdy letterbox sized box. There were even candles, a card, a balloon and a party blower which was a lovely added touch.

cake by post review

baker days review

personalised valentines cake

A letterbox cake serving 3-4 people costs from £14.99. You can choose from vanilla or chocolate or pay extra to have fruit cake, or gluten or dairy free. I particularly like that you can choose gluten or dairy free options as these are often so hard to find.

We thought that the cake tasted lovely. It was moist and sweet and the perfect mix of cake and icing. It cut beautifully and fed four easily.

bakerdays cake review

Baker Days do all sorts of cakes, not just letterbox cakes, their choice is so huge I’m sure there is something for everyone! You can find out more about them online or on Facebook or Twitter.

What do you think? Would cake by post be something that you would order for a special occasion? You could win a personalised letterbox cake of your own choice by entering my competition. Simply enter via the Rafflecopter widget below. In Competition ends at midnight on the 6th February 2016. In order to have a cake ordered in time for Valentines Day the winner needs to get in touch by Monday 8th February 2016. UK entries only. Standard Terms and Conditions Apply.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure – we were gifted this cake for the purpose of the review. All opinions are honest and my own.

Family Fever
Follow:
Share:

57 Comments

  1. January 26, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    This looks lovely. What a sweet looking cake! Bakers Days are great! Angela

  2. January 26, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    I like the fact that they have gluten and dairy free options.

  3. January 26, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    Wow cake by post is the best thing I’ve heard of in a while!! I’m currently out of the country so will looking into having one of these delivered to my boyfriend for Valentine’s Day! 😀

  4. January 27, 2016 / 12:16 am

    Wow, I love the idea of ordering a cake by post. I would prefer to buy one locally but if I was busy or had forgotten someone’s birthday it would be a great thing to do.

  5. January 27, 2016 / 12:18 am

    I think it is wonderful that you can now get cake by post! How cool is that?!

  6. January 27, 2016 / 10:11 am

    This is amazing! Getting cake through the post is something that dreams are made of. A great Valentine’s day present too.

  7. January 27, 2016 / 10:18 am

    This cake looks absolutely beautiful! I want to try it! Yum!

  8. January 27, 2016 / 11:53 am

    I think these cakes are a great idea to be able to send them to friends and family. Loving the design flexibility too.

  9. January 27, 2016 / 12:51 pm

    We had one last week and I was so impressed with it – the cake itself was also a fair bit bigger than I was actually expecting. I had images of OH just polishing it all off himself in one sitting 😉
    Jess Powell (Babi a Fi) recently posted…Review: Japanese NappiesMy Profile

  10. January 27, 2016 / 4:00 pm

    I did a review for BakerDays about a year or so ago, I love the cake! It was so tasty
    Life as Mum recently posted…Blue MondayMy Profile

  11. January 27, 2016 / 8:05 pm

    Wow! Cake by post… sign me up 🙂 🙂 The cakes look very tasty and the gluten free option is a thoughtful addition. x

  12. January 27, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    Aww that cake looks fab! It’s great that they offer gluten and dairy free options!

  13. iain maciver
    January 27, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    fab giveaway

  14. January 27, 2016 / 11:05 pm

    What a good idea and a great thing to send for a birthday or celebration.

  15. Ray Dodds
    January 28, 2016 / 8:40 am

    Cakes through the post my idea of heaven

  16. Ray Dodds
    January 28, 2016 / 8:40 am

    Cakes through the post my idea of heaven

  17. Rachel Craig
    January 28, 2016 / 1:30 pm

    I have subscribed by e-mail. Great looking cakes.

  18. January 28, 2016 / 2:41 pm

    You are a super star!!!
    We need gluten free and dairy free cakes in our life – I need to give these guys a try.
    Thanks for sharing hun
    Charlotte x

  19. January 28, 2016 / 4:29 pm

    I love the fact you can now get cake by post, it is such an amazing idea x

  20. don erwood
    January 28, 2016 / 4:48 pm

    cake in the post.. how great is that..

  21. claire woods
    January 28, 2016 / 8:54 pm

    Subscribed and would love to win one.

  22. Nina Brown
    January 28, 2016 / 9:23 pm

    The cake looks really special and packed with care – would love to try to see if it is as tasty 🙂

  23. D Mitchell
    January 28, 2016 / 10:57 pm

    Cakes by post are a First Class idea!

  24. Glenys McGrath
    January 30, 2016 / 7:30 am

    Brilliant idea. I have taken note of the details to send as gifts.

  25. January 30, 2016 / 8:51 pm

    It is such a great idea isn’t it? We had one last Christmas ad it was delicious. Great review. Kaz x

  26. Ema J Lowe
    January 30, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    I have subscribed x

  27. rominy colville
    January 31, 2016 / 8:17 am

    gluten free yum x

  28. Ashleigh Allan
    January 31, 2016 / 8:58 am

    great idea – I have subscribed

  29. Barbara Knight
    January 31, 2016 / 2:31 pm

    What a great idea, a lovely gift idea.

  30. Louise Smith
    January 31, 2016 / 3:36 pm

    Subscribed

  31. Deanna
    January 31, 2016 / 6:57 pm

    Thats such an amazing idea! I’m often wanting to send a bit of a thoughtful or personal gift to a friend who’s far away and this would be perfect!

  32. Jo Carroll
    January 31, 2016 / 8:31 pm

    I’ve subscribed to your newsletter, looking forward to receiving them. x

  33. Alison Johnson
    February 1, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    Subscribed via email & Bloglovin’

  34. Angie Hoggett
    February 2, 2016 / 9:24 pm

    I’m following via email, bloglovin and instagram (username is angiehoggett for both)

  35. Spencer Broadley
    February 3, 2016 / 7:32 am

    All done 🙂

  36. February 3, 2016 / 2:45 pm

    Just coming back to say that I have actually just ordered one of these for my boyfriend so thank you so much for your review Ali!!! 🙂

    • February 4, 2016 / 2:28 pm

      Ah thanks for coming back to say that! I hope he likes it!! xx

  37. Barbara Handley
    February 3, 2016 / 4:56 pm

    Subscribed

  38. Rachel Butterworth
    February 4, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    I subscribed.

  39. Jemma Bond
    February 4, 2016 / 10:52 pm

    I have subscribed!

  40. Jemima
    February 5, 2016 / 12:56 am

    Subscribed!

  41. Kerry Smith
    February 5, 2016 / 9:40 pm

    Subscribed

  42. trevor linvell
    February 6, 2016 / 12:16 am

    Subscribed by email and on bloglovin

  43. Jill Fairbanks
    February 6, 2016 / 6:49 am

    I have subscribed

  44. kelly morgan
    February 6, 2016 / 12:43 pm

    I have suscribed

  45. Sarah Parker
    February 6, 2016 / 1:09 pm

    lovely idea – I have subscribed 🙂

  46. Chris Fletcher
    February 6, 2016 / 3:22 pm

    I’ve subscribed!

  47. Victoria N
    February 6, 2016 / 4:09 pm

    Subscribed with bloglovin – pinklady123

  48. wendy malone
    February 6, 2016 / 4:47 pm

    Subscribed. thank you.

  49. Natalie Crossan
    February 6, 2016 / 10:02 pm

    I love baker days!!

  50. julia wilkes
    February 6, 2016 / 10:41 pm

    Subscribed, thanks for Blogging about Baker days I am always lost for ideas on what to get someone for special occasions especially slightly older Folk when they don’t eat so much!

  51. Claire Appleton
    February 6, 2016 / 11:14 pm

    I have subscribed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge