Goodlife Vegetarian Food Review

I’ve been a vegetarian since I was 13 years old, so without giving away my age too much, that means I’ve been vegetarian for over 20 years. When I first became a vegetarian the veggie options were very few and far between. Meat replacement products were limited and quite rubbery and unappealing.

Fast forward 20 years and we have so much more choice. There is nearly always a vegetarian choice on a menu if you are eating out and the vegetarian options in the supermarket are so much better than they ever were. I’ve recently been trying some of the Goodlife range and I’ve been so impressed, they are so tasty that you won’t even miss meat…I promise!

First up I tried the Goodlife Mushroom and Spinach Kiev with a creamy garlic and cheese sauce. I served these alongside roast potatoes, carrots, swede and broccoli so it made the perfect Sunday lunch accompaniment.

The outside was really crisp and the inside was nice and moist and the garlic sauce inside was lovely. It kept it’s shape and texture well too.

Next up I tried the French Bean and Spinach Sausages with Wensleydale Cheese. I love a good sausage sarnie so I knew I had to try these in between two big slices of tiger bread.

They were really moist and flavoursome and perfect with a dash of ketchup. Be warned, they are quite green and they didn’t hold their shape particularly well when they were cut, but they tasted good!

My favourite item from the range was the Falafel with Chickpea, Cumin and Coriander. I love a good falafel and these are so easy to cook – just pop them in the oven for 15 minutes and you have an instant snack. I love them served with a big blob of mango chutney or sweet chilli sauce to use as a dip.

Last but not least we tried the Vegetable Masala with Cauliflower Rice ready meal. I don’t usually buy this type of meal but looking at the ingredients I was really impressed with  how natural they were and the fact that it is gluten free and contains 3 of your 5 a day. It only takes 8 minutes to cook so is ideal for if you are short of time or have had a busy day and don’t want to cook.

 

I’ll definitely be buying from the Goodlife range again. I was really impressed with their ingredients and taste too. I love that they celebrate and make the most of the natural flavours of the vegetables that they use and don’t try to disguise them.

The Goodlife range is available in Sainsburys, Ocado and Iceland as well as other stockists, a full list can be found on their website.

Did you like this post? Share it with your friends or Pin it for later…

Goodlife Vegetarian Food Review
Disclosure – this post is written in collaboration with Goodlife. All opinions are honest and my own.
Follow:
Share:

34 Comments

  1. October 17, 2017 / 8:29 pm

    Oh, these look great. I may need to try and sneak some into our weekly shop.

    C x
    CurvyGirlThin.com

  2. October 17, 2017 / 8:41 pm

    I am going to have to check out the Goodlife range, it sounds like they have some really taste options no matter if you are vegetarian or just fancy something without meat.

  3. October 17, 2017 / 9:48 pm

    It is pretty cool that companies have really responded to way folks eat these days,be it vegetarian,vegan or gluten free.

    • October 18, 2017 / 10:45 am

      Definitely, there is so much more choice than when I turned vegetarian years ago.

  4. October 18, 2017 / 12:44 am

    I am a vegetarian as well so I love the sound of the masala and the falafel looks rather delicious as well! I wish they could send me some now as I am starving haha!

    • October 18, 2017 / 10:44 am

      Ah sorry it made you hungry! The falafel were my favourite!

  5. October 18, 2017 / 9:37 am

    While I’m not a vegetarian I do always love a good veggie option as I am trying to limit my meat intake. The mushroom and spinach kiev sounds so good x

    • October 18, 2017 / 10:26 am

      That’s good, this is a great option for Meat Free Monday if you take part in that.

  6. October 18, 2017 / 4:36 pm

    Im not a veggie but will happily eat vegetarian meals on a regular basis to give myself a meat break. I haven’t heard of this range before so its definitely something I will check out the next time that I go shopping x

  7. Katrina
    October 18, 2017 / 9:43 pm

    Even though I am not a vegetarian I love eating food vegetarian food so these look delicious to me

  8. Dannii
    October 19, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    These look great and we are always looking for some new veggie products, especially those we can snack on.

  9. October 19, 2017 / 12:50 pm

    We’re super impressed with Goodlife too and even though my mummy isn’t a veggie she loves the tastes. Its amazing how far vegetarian meals have come on x

  10. glamglitzgloss
    October 19, 2017 / 3:13 pm

    I’ve got people coming for dinner soon and one is veggie. I’ve been wondering about what to cook for but now I think I’m sorted, I’m loving the sound of those sausages, and the falafels too

  11. October 19, 2017 / 3:52 pm

    I’ve never been a vegetarian but I’ve seriously been playing with the idea of trying it to get back in shape! Their food looks pretty tasty!

    • October 20, 2017 / 8:58 pm

      A vegetarian diet can be really healthy so should help you with your goal!

  12. October 19, 2017 / 10:49 pm

    I have to try these as I am planning to try to be a vegetarian for a week. If not, then maybe baby steps first- I’ll just go for a day.

    • October 20, 2017 / 8:54 pm

      A day is better than nothing, you can always take it in stages! Well done for giving it a go!

  13. laurahartleyy
    October 20, 2017 / 3:35 pm

    Falafel is one of my favourites too so I’d love to try their range! I never eat it as a snack – that’s a good idea 🙂

  14. Jemma
    October 20, 2017 / 5:16 pm

    I really like htat there are so many different options out there now for different dietary requirements.

  15. October 21, 2017 / 4:59 pm

    I’ve not heard of this range before. My sister is vegetarian and struggles to find good choices!

  16. October 24, 2017 / 3:39 am

    Ever since getting diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes I had to switch my meals and look up healthier recipes and choices. This is perfect timing for me. While I am not vegetarian, this came at a perfect time to help fit my “diet” that will help me and the little one.

    • October 24, 2017 / 8:20 pm

      These will be a great addition to your diet then. I hope you are doing ok with the GD.

  17. Emily (@amummytoo)
    October 24, 2017 / 11:31 am

    Yes! Growing up vegetarian I still remember how limited the selections were, it’s amazing how far the UK has come! Everything looks lovely 🙂

    • October 24, 2017 / 8:17 pm

      Things have definitely progressed for the better in terms of selection!

  18. countryheartdeb
    October 26, 2017 / 10:34 am

    These look so good and i still havent tried cauliflower rice so will give this a go!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.