Review & Giveaway – A Better Man by Leah McLaren

Review – A Better Man by Leah McLaren

I have been part of the Britmums book club, in the hope that it will encourage me to read more. Reading is one of my favourite hobbies but I just don’t have the time for it that I used to. At the end of last year I was so busy I didn’t have time to get this book review done in time but I managed to sit down over the Christmas break and read it in one day!

The story is essentially very relevant to most modern mothers. It focuses on Maya, a stay at home mother who gave up a high flying career in law when her two children were born. She struggles in many ways and her marriage fails. Parts of the book are told from the point of view of her husband Nick who is looking for a divorce. This provides an alternative perspective but I find that he is hard to relate to, and the general feeling is that the book is told from Maya’s point of view.

When Nick discovers that it would be very financially costly for him to divorce Maya he decides to become a better husband to improve his chances of a good financial settlement. But in the process of pretending to be a better man, he does become one. The only problem is what happens when Maya finds out.

I don’t want to spoil the story for you but I was a little torn by the ending. Maya appears to be a pawn in her own life, and while she may have taken a little bit of control by the end, her character lacks the strength for me to have faith in her, or even be inspired by her at all. I certainly didn’t finish the book and think that she had made all the best life choices.

Nevertheless, it was a really enjoyable book and certainly captured my attention closely enough for me to guzzle read it in a day! I’d definitely recommend it for a bit of interesting light reading, and I found it very relevant to the modern mother!

a better man leah mclaren

I’m trying to de-clutter and I hate to get rid of books so I thought I would give my copy of this book away to my lovely readers. It is used, by me so does have a couple of creases in the spine, but hey, for you it is a free book and for me it is the chance to pass it on whilst saying thank you to you all for reading my little blog!

Usual terms and conditions apply. Entry is via rafflecopter and open to UK residents only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Family Fever

Follow:
Share:

41 Comments

  1. Becca Staples
    January 5, 2016 / 8:27 am

    Looking for a new read at the moment, love to start a new book in the new year x

  2. Katie skeoch
    January 5, 2016 / 9:45 am

    I’m just about finished sharp objects by Gilliam Flynn

  3. Christine Caple
    January 5, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding

  4. Keith Hunt
    January 5, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    the famous five go to mystery moor to the family – Never To old for the good old.

  5. claire woods
    January 5, 2016 / 8:37 pm

    Subscribed and reading The marble collector by cecelia ahern.

  6. Ruth Harwood
    January 6, 2016 / 9:29 am

    Currently reading the second in the Valhalla series called Blood will follow by Snorri Kristjansson 🙂

  7. Margaret Clarkson
    January 6, 2016 / 12:45 pm

    “Even dogs in the wild” by Ian Rankin

  8. Ashleigh
    January 6, 2016 / 3:18 pm

    Etta and Otto and Russell and James – loving it!

  9. Julie Ward
    January 6, 2016 / 3:47 pm

    Blood brothers, J Cox

  10. harriet
    January 6, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    To kill a mockingbird

  11. clair downham
    January 6, 2016 / 5:10 pm

    subscribed and not reading anything at nonent

  12. Claire D
    January 6, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    Private India by James Patterson

  13. Andrea Fletcher
    January 6, 2016 / 7:17 pm

    The playground mafia by Sarah Tucker

  14. don erwood
    January 6, 2016 / 11:41 pm

    The girl on the train

  15. January 7, 2016 / 10:29 am

    I read lots of different books, but just finished tania carver – the creeper

  16. Sheena Widdowfield
    January 7, 2016 / 11:35 pm

    I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

  17. laura stewart
    January 8, 2016 / 8:13 am

    i’ve just finished reading slave girl x

  18. Angela Kelly
    January 8, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    I’m reading Cut Both Ways by Carrie Mesrobian

  19. January 9, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    Looking for a new book to read

  20. kate kathurima
    January 9, 2016 / 10:23 pm

    Gorilla Dawn

  21. January 10, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    I must admit I’m terrible at reading these days – I used to read a book a week but now I’m lucky to read a book a year!
    Happy New Year and thanks so much for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x
    Colette B recently posted…Discover Room – Review & GiveawayMy Profile

  22. Rachel Butterworth
    January 12, 2016 / 9:46 pm

    Shadow’s Claim by Kresley Cole.

  23. jamie banks
    January 13, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    lizs diary its a chcik flick book xx

  24. Ann Williams
    January 16, 2016 / 11:32 am

    Blood in the Cotswolds by Rebecca Tope
    This is one of a series of cosy crime mysteries set in the Cotswolds and I find them a pleasant change from the intense dark crime stories that seem so common these days. More in the Agatha Chrisie mould.

  25. Lauren Old
    January 16, 2016 / 12:40 pm

    The Ice Twins by S K Tremayne

  26. Laura Pritchard
    January 17, 2016 / 6:24 pm

    Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky

  27. Sheri Darby
    January 17, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    Soul Atlas by David Mitchell

  28. Victoria B
    January 17, 2016 / 8:37 pm

    Have just finished reading His Other Life by Beth Thomas – really good.

  29. Alix Smith
    January 17, 2016 / 8:46 pm

    I’m reading the first of the hunger games trilogy – been meaning to read it for ages! I won’t see the films until i’ve read the books.

  30. Wendy Becker
    January 18, 2016 / 9:12 am

    The unexpected professor

  31. Paula Barker
    January 18, 2016 / 10:07 am

    Glory, by Rachel Billington

  32. Averil Lea
    January 18, 2016 / 10:18 am

    Instinct, by Nick Oldham

  33. emma kinsey
    January 18, 2016 / 11:00 am

    just finished chris carter i am death

  34. Michelle Wild
    January 18, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    Dickens Christmas stories

  35. Pauline Wilson
    January 18, 2016 / 6:17 pm

    Subscribed by email and bloglovin. I am currently about to start reading To Kill a Mockingbird, I am going to try and read lots of classic books this year

  36. Christine nicholson
    January 18, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    The maze runner series

  37. January 18, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    Not reading anything at the moment .. so ready for a new read !

  38. Jo Hutchinson
    January 18, 2016 / 10:18 pm

    Murder of a botoxed blonde by Denise Swanson

  39. Karl Borowy
    January 18, 2016 / 11:00 pm

    todays Metro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge