The Cat In the Hat Review – New Theatre Cardiff

The Cat in The Hat Review

We always try to fit a theatre trip into a school holiday and this half term we went to see The Cat in The Hat in the New Theatre, Cardiff. The girls have read the book (several times) and watched the film so were very excited to see the stage adaptation.

cat in the hat theatre

If you have read it, you will know that the book is a little odd. It is the story of a young boy and his sister who are left home alone and are visited by a strange cat in a hat and two funny people – Thing 1 and Thing 2 who create havoc and all sort of mischief in their house while their mother is out. There is a pet fish who is the voice of reason throughout. The show is energetic and fun, the children laughed at the silly antics of the cat and Thing 1 and Thing 2, although Little Miss J was confused by the appearance of more than one cat!

cat in the hat theatre

The stage set up was very like the book – simple but yet effective. No distracting scenery here, this show focuses on the comedy of the text and the silliness of the actors!

I really liked how the show was made interactive for the little ones. Bubbles were blown and balls thrown into the audience. Thing 1 even came into the audience to say hi which was really great for the kids. The show held their attention for the whole time and although I thought it could have been made funnier the children seemed to really enjoy it.

The show was a quick 45 minutes which was perfect timing for little ones as they didn’t have time to get bored. Little Miss J loved it, and although Bean (8) ย said she thought it was a little babyishย I could tell that she didn’t have a totally rubbish time!!

IMG_9353

If you missed The Cat in the Hat the next children’s performance at the New Theatre is the brilliant Gangsta Granny. You can book tickets here.

gansta granny new theatre

 

Disclosure – we were given a family ticket to this performance for the purpose of this review.ย 

Follow:
Share:

29 Comments

  1. Hannah Wood
    February 21, 2016 / 11:12 pm

    So glad they have made this into a show as remember how good it was as a book.

  2. February 22, 2016 / 3:36 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever red the cat in the hat before…. I bet so many people think thats strange! xxx

  3. February 22, 2016 / 7:03 am

    I would love to see this! I’ve read the book to my kids so many times now I know the words off by heart. Looks like a fab show!

  4. February 22, 2016 / 8:02 am

    I haven’t been to see a show in so long I think I need to have a gander at my local theatre and see what performances they have planned!

  5. February 22, 2016 / 8:28 am

    Ahhh, one of my favourites! And my daughters favourite too. We’d LOVE to see this in theater. It’s always good when they make the show interactive for little ones. Gansta Granny looks great too ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. February 22, 2016 / 9:26 am

    I love that they’ve made this into a play, such a good idea! x

  7. February 22, 2016 / 10:35 am

    I love the Cat in the Hat and as a theatre & design graduate I would have loved to have seen this!

  8. February 22, 2016 / 11:47 am

    Sounds like a great show, I need to find a younger child to go and see all these with x

  9. February 22, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    Oh I used to love The Cat in the hat ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. February 22, 2016 / 1:00 pm

    This sounds absolutely amazing – I would love to go an see it ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  11. February 22, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the show. My daughter was a big fan of the show

  12. February 22, 2016 / 2:49 pm

    oh wow my little people would just love this as they are always watching the movie

  13. February 22, 2016 / 6:21 pm

    This sounds amazing! My children love trips to the theatre. We’re off to see Mary Poppins in November.

  14. February 22, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Ive read the book with my niece and think I enjoyed it more than she did x

  15. Cassandra Mayers
    February 22, 2016 / 8:38 pm

    Wow never seen anything like it! Looks so different ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. February 22, 2016 / 9:13 pm

    I love the stage set up! When my son is older I can’t wait to take him to a bigger variety of theatre shows like this! x

  17. February 22, 2016 / 9:23 pm

    This was one of my favourite books as a child and of course I loved the film, there is something so comforting amidst the chaos in Cat in the hat.

  18. February 23, 2016 / 12:16 am

    Oh wow this looks amazing, I’d totally go and see it!

  19. February 23, 2016 / 8:49 am

    This looks soooo cool! It reminds me so much of Slava’s Snowshow – another show great for families!

  20. February 23, 2016 / 9:22 am

    My daughter loves this book, she would totally love this! 45 minutes sounds just right for little ones too

  21. February 23, 2016 / 10:30 am

    I love the Cat in the at and would love to take the kids to go and watch a show like this

  22. February 23, 2016 / 11:51 am

    Dr Seuss is great for kids, I would’ve loved to see this when I was younger!!

  23. February 23, 2016 / 3:39 pm

    Looks like you had a great time. I can’t wait till L is a bit older so we can go to things like this

  24. February 23, 2016 / 9:27 pm

    Looks like you had a great time. I really would like to take J to see a show ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. February 23, 2016 / 10:53 pm

    I loved the book as a kid and the movie. It’s a show that I would like to go see myself!

  26. February 25, 2016 / 11:28 pm

    I love The Cat In The Hat and I’ve heard this is fab. Looks like you had a fab time, I can’t wait to start going to things like this with Lily when she is a bit older ๐Ÿ™‚
    X

Leave a Reply