My First Scalextric Review and Giveaway

I’m sure that most of you had a Scalextric set when you were children – or you had a sibling with one. My brother had one and we both loved it, we would play for hours racing the cars up and down, practising and getting the technique just right!

My husband has been waiting for the day when he can get a Scalextric set for our children and has been waiting until they were old enough, but he’s waiting no more as we were recently sent My First Scalextric set to try out!

my first scalextric

Geared at children aged 3+ this set means no more waiting for your child to be old enough to enjoy this toy, this beginners set is ideal to start them off on.

It consists of a really simple figure of 8 track with two cars and two race lanes. It is really easy to put together (it takes about 5 minutes) and you can plug it in and go because it is mains powered.

There is a red and a yellow car and their lanes are easily identifiable as they are marked red and yellow, as are the controllers. This all makes it really easy for younger children to play and understand.

All they need to do is press the trigger on the controller and off they go!

All three of my children (10, 6 and 3) loved this and took it in turns racing. The only thing I would say is that if they pressed too hard on the controller, the car would go too fast and fly off the track. It’s hard for a 3 year old to grasp how hard to press the controller – their instinct is just to press it down completely so my three year old struggled a little bit with this, but my 6 year old got the hang of it soon enough.

 

I made a little unboxing and review video if you would like to see the set in more detail…

 

I know that this toy will be flying off the shelves this Christmas time so we’ve teamed up with the team promoting My First Scalextric to offer one of my lucky readers the chance to win a set. Enter via the Rafflecoper widget below. UK entries only please and the giveaway ends at midnight on the 12th November 2017. Standard giveaway terms and conditions apply.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure – we were gifted this set for the purpose of this post. All opinions are honest and my own.

Follow:
Share:

135 Comments

  1. Victoria Thurgood
    October 26, 2017 / 12:22 am

    I never had it as a child but my two teen sons use to love racing each other

  2. Paula Cheadle
    October 26, 2017 / 1:04 am

    I never had one, but my best friend did, we had lots of fun racing each other

  3. October 26, 2017 / 3:53 am

    My brother had a set and used to play against my dad – they fell out loads lol! I couldn’t play as I kept crashing! Hense why it took me three attempts to pass my driving test!

  4. janine atkin
    October 26, 2017 / 9:16 am

    playing with my brothers and making the cars go o fast they spun off the track

  5. Katie Kingsbury
    October 26, 2017 / 10:20 am

    Playing my friend’s brothers set because I didn’t have my own because #sexism :-/ .

  6. Victoria Prince
    October 26, 2017 / 10:40 am

    Mine is racing my dad on our dining room table and inevitably the cars would go flying off the track at some point!

  7. abigail edkins
    October 26, 2017 / 11:35 am

    Im not sure I had any, my brother was all about his action men

  8. iain maciver
    October 26, 2017 / 11:39 am

    my dad and mum bought one for me many years ago it was a four track , four cars it was quite big figure of eight track and my dad made a place for it in the loft on a board so we didn,t have to keep taking it apart the good old days

  9. lapsapchung
    October 26, 2017 / 12:06 pm

    I never had a Scalextric but the big boys next door did so I spent hours playing with theirs.
    Jane Willis

  10. Tony Courtney
    October 26, 2017 / 12:52 pm

    Me and my brother spent hours playing on our scalextric, my sons would love this to

  11. Angela Treadway
    October 26, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    I had a set with a Mondeo and a jag and me and my dad always used to have a great time playing it x

  12. Leila Benhamida
    October 26, 2017 / 2:16 pm

    Never had some and never played with car.

  13. Susan B
    October 26, 2017 / 4:01 pm

    Neither my siblings nor I had one but I was aware of them and rather envious of those boys who did have one.

  14. October 26, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    I remember my friends brother having a scalextric and it was good fun

  15. Helen Thurston
    October 26, 2017 / 4:25 pm

    WE never had a Scalextric growing up – but I remember my brother-in-law buying one for himself for Christmas one year – not sure who enjoyed it more, him or his cats.

  16. Ellen Stafford
    October 26, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    Always wanting one but never getting one!

  17. Emma Whitworth
    October 26, 2017 / 6:46 pm

    Never had one but really wanted one that’s the great thing about having kids!

  18. Chris Andrews
    October 26, 2017 / 6:48 pm

    What’s your favourite Scalextric Memory from your childhood? . . . .sibling rivalry . . . .l always want ed to beat my brothers

  19. Margaret GALLAGHER
    October 26, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    Three brothers had one – I wasn’t allowed to play as I was girl – got my own back when I saved up and got one myself !!

  20. pete c
    October 26, 2017 / 9:35 pm

    when I was a kid, taking a bit of time to use the trigger so the cars didnt shoot off the track!

  21. Susie Wilkinson
    October 26, 2017 / 10:27 pm

    We had my Dad’s old Scalextric set, so I just remember being so careful with it so that we didn’t damage it!

  22. October 26, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    I always wanted one but had to make do with watching my friends play with theirs

  23. Solange
    October 27, 2017 / 1:26 am

    Arguing with my brother because he wouldn’t let me have a go. My mum had to buy me one of my own.

  24. Lyndsey cooksey
    October 27, 2017 / 5:07 pm

    I remember playing against my brother. I was the black, he was red. I never did no good as I would press and hold the button in and the car would shoot off the rails!

  25. maria blythin
    October 27, 2017 / 6:27 pm

    building the track all up the stairs

  26. Fiona Paley
    October 27, 2017 / 9:43 pm

    I never had one and I don’t even remember playing with one. I think my parents might have thought they weren’t a girls toy and never gave me the option. My nieces would love them though.

  27. Sally Collingwood
    October 28, 2017 / 11:28 am

    Never had one but my friend did and we played it together, grat fun!

  28. isis1981uk
    October 28, 2017 / 4:45 pm

    Setting it up in my grandparents’ dining room and having family races!

  29. Sarah Forster
    October 28, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    My brother and I used to turn off all the lights in our living room and have races in the dark – we loved it because the lights on the cars came on!

  30. October 28, 2017 / 11:48 pm

    I remember racing with my brother but my car always seemed to end up off the track – I’m sure it was sabotage!

    Kelly Ellen Hirst

  31. S Edwards
    October 29, 2017 / 10:03 am

    Winning every race against my dad

  32. Sally Lean
    October 29, 2017 / 10:20 am

    Playing against my younger brother πŸ™‚

  33. Jacqui Graham
    October 29, 2017 / 10:56 am

    playing with my twin brother on Christmas morning – after falling out setting all of the track up and choosing our cars.

  34. stuart hargreaves
    October 29, 2017 / 12:01 pm

    The cars flying off the track because they were going to fast around the bends

  35. lozzle77
    October 29, 2017 / 12:47 pm

    going round to my friends house to play his as i didn’t have one

  36. Claire Glace
    October 29, 2017 / 12:59 pm

    It sounds terrible….but i didnt have lovely toys like this whilst growing up, but i would love for my grandchildren to own one….x

  37. Ren Taylor
    October 29, 2017 / 1:34 pm

    Having races on a Sunday afternoon with my dad,we had loads of track so it went all round the house!!

  38. amy bondoc
    October 29, 2017 / 2:57 pm

    playing races with my dad πŸ™‚

  39. Clare Hubbard
    October 29, 2017 / 2:59 pm

    I remember my brother has it but i was rubbish at it, my cars always flew off the track!

  40. Tracy Hanley
    October 29, 2017 / 7:18 pm

    Not getting a look in for my brothers

  41. Alison Johnson
    October 29, 2017 / 9:31 pm

    My brother has a Scalextric & I was allowed to play it with him but I wasn’t allowed to choose whick car I could race.

  42. renae
    October 29, 2017 / 9:46 pm

    Racing against my cousins and my car always flying off

  43. Sidrah Ahmed
    October 29, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    I never had a scalextric when i was young

  44. Rhia
    October 29, 2017 / 9:55 pm

    My older sister had a set…. we’d race them round so fast the cars would go flying off the track and my mum would know what we were doing coz of the loud clatter as the cars hit the radiator!

  45. Heather Hibbert
    October 30, 2017 / 1:01 am

    Makig them fly off the track

  46. October 30, 2017 / 2:43 am

    The race track that kept on growing, my Dad would add bits after I had gone to bed.

  47. lorraine kirk
    October 30, 2017 / 7:49 am

    I never had one but my cousins used to and we loved going around to their house to play it.

  48. Kerry Kilmister
    October 30, 2017 / 5:26 pm

    I remember my parents bought a huge set for me and my 3 brothers. We had hours and hours of fun playing it with our dad.

  49. Sarah Mackay
    October 30, 2017 / 7:32 pm

    Playing against my cousin in their attic

  50. Becky Yeomans
    October 31, 2017 / 9:12 am

    My dad had alot of scalextric toys as he is a big kid! I remember him going up the attic picking one and we would all sit round the table watching it go round and round!

  51. ashleigh allan
    October 31, 2017 / 10:17 pm

    Racing my friends!

  52. Hannah Rowley
    November 1, 2017 / 4:16 pm

    Me my brother and my dad all racing against each other

  53. Ruth Harwood
    November 2, 2017 / 9:42 am

    The cars constantly falling off cos we were trying to go too fast!!

  54. November 3, 2017 / 10:40 am

    I always took great pleasure in beating my brother’s at Scalextric. I always favoured the ‘slow and steady’ approach – which has served me pretty well as an adult driver…instead of their full throttle spin off the track style which never ends well πŸ˜‰

  55. November 3, 2017 / 1:17 pm

    I remember playing my brothers set but we were only allowed to touch it when he was there as he was so protective of it lol

  56. November 4, 2017 / 12:29 am

    I remember being thrilled to set the “best time of the week” in the town centre toyshop that had a massive Scalextric layout, only to be beaten by the very next kid who had a go.

  57. Christine Hall
    November 4, 2017 / 2:36 pm

    My partner and son challenge on scalectric but my 3 yr old grandson dosen’t get a loom in, he just sit watching and hoping to get a go.

  58. Sarah Addey
    November 4, 2017 / 4:02 pm

    Playing scalextric at christmas

  59. Sadiyya Maryam
    November 5, 2017 / 7:31 am

    Playing with my brothers was so much fun and competitive!

  60. Sophie Marie Cartwright
    November 5, 2017 / 9:56 am

    I have twin brothers who are 11 months younger than me, i vividly remember playing with them all day long! I was such a tomboy – and now my Son is just as boyish!

  61. Lorraine Stone
    November 5, 2017 / 10:36 am

    My brother having a set and us racing each other!

  62. Sue Bowden
    November 5, 2017 / 4:22 pm

    watching my uncle race his car’s around a track that he had built in his garage.

  63. Claire W
    November 5, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    I never had my own but loved playing with my uncles set and racing πŸ™‚

  64. Judith Allen
    November 6, 2017 / 11:40 pm

    I never played it when I was young, not something I ever asked for.

  65. Misty
    November 7, 2017 / 9:16 am

    christmas morning memories with all my brothers

  66. claire griffiths
    November 7, 2017 / 9:47 am

    i can remember my grandparents having one and me and all my cousins used to love it

  67. Kirsty Ward
    November 7, 2017 / 10:26 am

    Trying to beat my older brothers!

  68. Rachel Craig
    November 7, 2017 / 12:54 pm

    Can recall my brothers and their friends playing with Scalextric as children. They seemed to have lots of fun.

  69. Christina Palmer
    November 7, 2017 / 4:30 pm

    Playing with my younger brother when he got his first scalexitric set

  70. hannahlig
    November 7, 2017 / 4:38 pm

    Racing my brother, he always won!

  71. November 7, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    Playing with my dad as a child and making a huge track around my bedroom.

  72. Kelly cooper
    November 8, 2017 / 10:49 am

    My brother used to have one and play with my dad just remember the cars flying off the track

  73. November 8, 2017 / 2:51 pm

    I remember my dad and I setting the track up, it took forever and everytime we tried to race it fell apart, in the end we couldn’t play for laughing

  74. Dawn Hull
    November 8, 2017 / 10:27 pm

    Playing Scalextric with my friends and having tournaments.

  75. Rich Tyler
    November 9, 2017 / 1:35 am

    Playing with my little brother, the smell, speeding off the corners

  76. STACY SORRELL
    November 9, 2017 / 11:47 am

    I remember all my ‘boy’ friends had one, and my mum wouldnt let me have one as i was a girl! my daughter loves cars, id love for her to have one!

  77. francis lee
    November 9, 2017 / 1:38 pm

    racing my older sister on my first track and her never winning

  78. Laura
    November 9, 2017 / 6:46 pm

    I never had it, but my friend bought one with her first pay packet and we used to spend every weekend round at hers racing it!

  79. Tracey Mitchell
    November 9, 2017 / 6:53 pm

    I remember playing with my brother and sister and our cat used to swipe the cars off much to my brothers discust.

  80. Lynn Heath
    November 10, 2017 / 9:37 am

    I can remember always wanting one, but never getting it! It always looked so much fun!!!!

  81. amanda greensmith
    November 10, 2017 / 2:31 pm

    i always remember wanting to play on my brothers but got told it wasn’t for girls

  82. Tammy Westrup
    November 10, 2017 / 4:10 pm

    Used to play with my dad brought back his childhood to him

  83. Anthea Holloway
    November 10, 2017 / 4:32 pm

    I never had one – too old I guess – but my children did and I remember them setting it all up in the living room and having such fun.

  84. Kayleigh Watkins
    November 10, 2017 / 4:34 pm

    My sister was a tomboy I’d have all Barbie’s and she would have action men etc, she had a scalectrix set and we had hours of fun playing with it, until I won anyway xXx

  85. Kev Cannon
    November 10, 2017 / 7:18 pm

    When I was a child Scalectrix was so expensive that i was never lucky to own one, but once a year at the end of term we were allowed to bring games into school and one of the boys brought his to school and we all got to race a few times.

  86. claire croft
    November 10, 2017 / 8:48 pm

    Normally arguing over who was which car and trying to persuade Dad to get off it so us children could have a go!

  87. sandy hill-smith
    November 10, 2017 / 9:21 pm

    I remember spending hours picking up the cars from wherever they had landed and fixing them back onto the track lol

  88. Vicki-Anne Smith
    November 11, 2017 / 10:45 am

    I didn’t have one as a child, but my dad did and I wasn’t allowed to play – only watch! Loved seeing the cars whizzing round!

  89. Dinah Butcher
    November 11, 2017 / 1:19 pm

    Goog memories of getting the whole family involved

  90. James Donovan
    November 11, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    I used to use my star wars action figures alongside my track so i had a whole world going on .

  91. donna l jones
    November 11, 2017 / 4:49 pm

    playing with my brothers

  92. November 11, 2017 / 5:03 pm

    spending half my time putting it back on the track as i always wanted my car to go too fast

  93. adeinne tonner
    November 11, 2017 / 5:05 pm

    For me it has to be playing it with my sister and i was always losing!

  94. Hazel Rush
    November 11, 2017 / 5:19 pm

    Playing with my brothers when he wasn’t looking!

  95. Jules Eley
    November 11, 2017 / 5:55 pm

    My Dad brought me one Christmas and we played everyday for a month it was great!

  96. November 11, 2017 / 7:02 pm

    My dad buying the family one when I was 10, we spent Xmas morning having races against each other.

  97. November 11, 2017 / 8:44 pm

    Mine would be from when my kids were younger, my Dad used to set it up for when they arrived – were special times

  98. Hannah P
    November 11, 2017 / 9:12 pm

    My grandfather actually used to play with me and I loved it!

  99. Lindsey w
    November 12, 2017 / 8:46 am

    My brother running his track all round the dining room and my Dad falling over it and breaking his toe…true story!

  100. tricia bingham
    November 12, 2017 / 11:46 am

    not quite getting round the corners before the car flew off the track

  101. November 12, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    I never had one as a child, but I know a little person who would love one now.

  102. November 12, 2017 / 12:28 pm

    Playing it with playing it with my brother for hours and then dad having to fix the track as it broke x

  103. A.E. ADKINS
    November 12, 2017 / 1:25 pm

    We seem to spend more time putting the cars back on the track after smoothing the wires under the cars than we did racing

  104. Rachael O'Brien
    November 12, 2017 / 2:23 pm

    My eldest is 20 , mother other daughters are 16 and 12 , I always wanted a boy to get all the toys for him the girls never had . I now have a two year old boy and this is something I really want for him ! Thankyou for this chance x

  105. November 12, 2017 / 2:59 pm

    taking it in turns with the siblings and who ever lost dropped out and another person played. 10 rounds at a time. and yes it did cause arguments.

  106. Dean Boyle
    November 12, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    Racing with my brother as kid and the cars flying off the tack because we woof too fast

  107. Ruth Davies
    November 12, 2017 / 3:30 pm

    Loved playing on a sunday with my grandpa

  108. Sarah Wilson
    November 12, 2017 / 3:42 pm

    Trying to prop up the track to build bridges!

  109. Kat 'Sally' Allinson
    November 12, 2017 / 4:16 pm

    Playing scalextric with my Dad and brother and our cars always flipping off the bend at top speed

  110. Rachael Sexey
    November 12, 2017 / 4:27 pm

    My two brothers getting one from Santa

  111. November 12, 2017 / 5:36 pm

    I never had one as a child, my children did and we all thoroughly enjoyed it

  112. Lesley Bain
    November 12, 2017 / 5:42 pm

    I could never get my car to stay on the track either so I sympathise with your son! πŸ™‚ x

  113. November 12, 2017 / 6:09 pm

    Mine was my brother when he inherited our uncles scalextric there was tons of it – he was very lucky and we had it all over the house from room to room it was so much fun and all his friends used to come over to play with it too

  114. lynn neal
    November 12, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    I remember trying to get the green car before my brother did because this one stayed on the track better!

  115. November 12, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    Racing against my brother we always fought over it.

  116. Jo Hutchings
    November 12, 2017 / 7:01 pm

    I don’t really have any Scalectrix memories so I’d love to make some with my little boy.

  117. Katie Walker
    November 12, 2017 / 7:28 pm

    I remember playing with my brother and the cat chasing the cars along the track

  118. Adrian Bold
    November 12, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    I used to love making them fly off at the corners by going too fast. It was an extra bonus if the car hit someone as it flew off πŸ™‚

  119. Tina Lighten-Duncan
    November 12, 2017 / 8:57 pm

    I always wanted a scalextric but never received one, for the first christmas I was together with my husband I brought him one, I played with it more then him πŸ˜€

  120. Tammy Neal
    November 12, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    My brother used to have one when I was younger and I used to play it haha would love this for my niece xx

  121. Laura Findlay
    November 12, 2017 / 9:13 pm

    Spending quality time with my Dad building and playing with it x

  122. Diana
    November 12, 2017 / 9:21 pm

    I remember my best friend had it, we loved playing it while mums were drinking coffee and catching up πŸ™‚

  123. November 12, 2017 / 9:25 pm

    I remember my car always flying off and both me and my brother being in fits of giggles.

  124. Paula T
    November 12, 2017 / 9:34 pm

    I remember playing withy big brother and then our mum couldn’t help herself and played too. She’s very competitive lol x

  125. November 12, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    I remember my brother getting a set for Christmas and we had so much fun with it he use to over push his button and his car would keep flying off the track i was steady and slow and nearly always won to his anoyance

  126. Amy Wright
    November 12, 2017 / 10:26 pm

    I used to play it with my mum and brother for hours – it was so much fun!

  127. Lisa Brignall
    November 12, 2017 / 10:37 pm

    These are just so much fun. Question is who will play most, son or dad??

  128. Lia Burns
    November 12, 2017 / 10:48 pm

    Racing my cousins every Christmas and always winning!

  129. Christian
    November 12, 2017 / 11:42 pm

    Unwrapping it on Christmas Day.

  130. Rachel Craig
    November 12, 2017 / 11:46 pm

    Great prize.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!